Fasted Cardio, Yea or Nay?

I started off the day with Body Pump and I feel great. Monday is a “rest day” for me but I’m pretty into Body Pump (can you say addictive personality?) I need to make modifications to my training plan to try to get to BP at least once per a week – with Monday being the easiest day for me to make it.

We had a great weekend celebrating our wonderful friends Brett and Nina who eloped in March with a beautiful ceremony at Sunset Cliffs. Brad & Jess, and Pete & Karly are back visiting for a week. Jim, Brett, Brad and Pete are best friends and all of us ladies have become close as well. This is the first time we’ve been together since they got married so we thought, why not throw them post-wedding surprise bachelor/ette parties!

The ladies had a blast dancing to some old faves at Snap! 90’s Dance Party at the brothel themed Ophelia’s and then made our way to the, oh so famous, Charlie’s. As happens on most weekends, we were up way too late and indulged a little too much.

I had an 11 mile long run to do on Sunday. I don’t know how I do it but I usually get up early and power through my long runs no matter how sleep deprived I am.

Note again, I am not a model runner! I am a normal girl that sometimes likes to party and just so happen to like to work out more than I like to sleep. This is actually a horrible process to follow and I don’t recommend it.

Yesterday was no exception. I woke up and hit the road around 8:30am. I realized about half way through that I hadn’t eaten anything before I left the house. That got me thinking about fasted cardio as a concept. It also got me thinking about how awesome I would be if I was more strict with my indulgence and sleep schedule but that’s a story for another day.

I prefer to run in the morning. It’s very hard for me to get motivated to run later in the day but also I’ve always had a preference for running on an empty stomach. When I was running a few miles every few days this was no problem. Now that I’ve upped my mileage I do like to eat a Larabar or banana before I go out. My question is, what is the best way to do it? Trust me, I know that fasted – hungover – cardio is NOT the way to do it 😛

As with carbs vs. low carbs, fasted cardio is a debated topic in the fitness community. The idea is that if you run on an empty stomach your body will burn more fat. When done correctly this promotes body fat loss and especially for burning “stubborn fat” off of your body – abs, hips, etc. Sure, I want six pack abs but I also really want to run 26.2 miles in November so how does fasted cardio impact endurance training? Does fasted cardio help put you into a fat burning state a la ketosis and how do carbs come into play?

I don’t know the answers but it sounds like there is potential for fasted cardio to be beneficial for endurance training. Here are a few articles on the topic that I’m finding helpful and I’m on the search for some podcasts. Podcasts are the best because you can hear about other’s experiences. Does anyone reading this have experience or thoughts on the topic?

Comprehensive article – Why and How I Use Fasted Cardio to Lose Fat as Quickly as Possible from Muscle for Life

Long technical read – Beneficial metabolic adaptations due to endurance exercise training in the fasted state from the Journal of Applied Physiology

A little more – What Is Fasted State Training: A Complete Guide from Beach Body

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

_ _ _ _ _

And since I’m still channeling my inner 90’s here’s a song to put your Monday on a level.

 

 

Leave a Reply

