Pumped Up

I’m starting the week on the heels of an epic ketogenic diet failure. Turns out, keto isn’t so forgiving when it comes to cheating. I.e. drinking beer and eating the occasional weekly Friday or Saturday night slice of pizza. I feel bloated and I think I’ve actually gained 3 or 4 lbs since I started this whole experiment.  Performance wise, I feel good, but not any better than before.

I’m having trouble wrapping my head around the whole concept now that I’ve been doing it for a couple of weeks. Fat Head Pizza is bomb diggity but how is that possibly healthier than eating a sweet potato or some carrots? Pork rinds are f*cking delicious but I really just want to go back to eating an apple as my snack every day. And if the goal with keto is to not be hungry and not snack at all, I’m not sure if I can get down with that!

For now, my keto experiment is on hiatus and I’m going back to what I know. Paleo-ish. Goodbye dairy, hello fruits and tubers and other non-grain carbs. Over the last year I’ve become accustomed to looking at sugar and ingredient list rather than carb count on labels and I’m sticking with it. I suspect I can stay at least cyclically fat adapted with this model.

My parents I am keeping the meat. Pretty much a total carnivore nowadays. I’ll skip the chicken, but give me all of the beef and pork. I found another great local meat supplier at the farmer’s market yesterday. I’ll plug him here when I get home and find the card. It makes all of the difference when you know that your meat is coming from a few miles away and was slaughtered within the last week. We had some thick, juicy NY Strip for dinner last night.

PSA – A lot of packaged meat in the grocery store is over a month old by the time it gets to you and some companies inject carbon monoxide into their meat for packaging so that it keeps the “fresh” red color. Of course the FDA allows this.

It’s weird how things work out, and I’ve said this before, but I always end up listening to podcasts that seem to speak to exactly what I’m going through. What you seek is seeking you. Last night when I was walking the dogs I listened the episode of the Paleo Solution – Nutrition and Obstacle Racing. In this episode Robb Wolf talks with Elijah Markstrom, who is trainer and obstacle course racer.

In the last few weeks I’ve taken a liking to shows that are focused on athletics and nutrition for trail, ultra and obstacle course running. These guys and gals are badasses and their nutritional needs are different than us average mortals. I enjoy hearing about what diets and they’ve found work best to enhance their endurance performance. Elijah Markstrom has some really interesting thoughts on fat adaptation and (good) carbs and how to make them work together.

Beyond that, I had a really great weekend. The Pirates were in town playing the Rockies so we went to two baseball games – Friday night party game and Sunday afternoon chill game. Nina and I went shopping on Tennyson on a sunny Saturday afternoon. I finally made it to the Yogi Exchange, which is a resale boutique that sells workout clothes. The owner makes incredible jewelry and I picked up a pair of her lotus flower earrings and a few new tops. I also scored a sweet pair sneakers for $18 on sale at Ooh! Ahh! Saturday night Jim and I hung out in Boulder at Mountain Sun Brewery and then played a rad new board game called Settlers of Catan with some friends until late night. Summer is too much fun sometimes.

I also found a new workout class that I’m obsessed with – BODY PUMP. My gym has always had this class but I’ve never tried it. I’m not super into group fitness outside of yoga but I’ve had a few people recommend this class to me. I’m sad I didn’t try it sooner. In Body Pump you use barbells and weights through a series of tracks that isolate and work different muscle groups. It’s meant to get you lean and toned – say no more! The class has very little cardio and very serious strength repetition. I think it’s going to complement my training nicely.

FullSizeRender 29

New lotus flower earrings from Yogi Exchange.

Have a good week everyone!

One thought on “Pumped Up

Leave a Reply

